The Steep Curve of Game Development and its Tools

I’ve taken programming classes for over five years, however, just programming is not my end goal. My goal has been to get into the field of game development.  Classes that tackle game development are rather rare and aren’t offered at most schools, so I haven’t had the opportunity to learn in a classroom environment. This…

I’ve taken programming classes for over five years, however, just programming is not my end goal. My goal has been to get into the field of game development. 

Classes that tackle game development are rather rare and aren’t offered at most schools, so I haven’t had the opportunity to learn in a classroom environment. This means that my goal depends on my drive to learn game development in my own time. After looking into what makes a game, specifically the technical aspects of it, I found that I have much to learn. 

Development of a game can be divided into five general sections: the engine, programming, visuals, audio, and testing.

Engines are software platforms that provide “the core functionalities and features for developing and running games.” The most popular game engines today, such as Unreal Engine and Unity, are extremely versatile and allow the whole or most of the game development process to be done in that platform alone. 

Any game, at its core, is a bunch of code. And while you can develop games without programming knowledge, it becomes very difficult at the higher, more professional levels. Programming language is usually up to user preference, although some tools may require specific languages.

Visuals and audio are rather similar in the fact that both require great creativity and are crucial to games today. Any model, texture, sound effect, and music are created from scratch or borrowed from some library. Software for both categories are typically used by artists of all kinds; music producers, artists, graphic designers, and such.

Finally, testing is the “last” process of developing the game. This could be seen as the verification and maintenance steps of software development. Making sure that there are no bugs and that every other section is working properly is crucial to a better user experience.

That’s a lot of things to do in order to create a game. So many processes, so many programs and tools to learn, and so many skills I need to learn. Learning a tool is one thing, mastering one takes so much time and effort. It makes me think about how I want to tackle my goal, do I focus on one section of game development? Do I learn a decent bit of every section? I have no clue.

It feels like the path to achieve what I want becomes longer and longer. Procrastination, poor time management, and lack of dedication only worsen that. 

If you want to achieve things, you have to take the first steps towards them. I want to land a career in game development and in order to do so, I need to learn. In my free time, I will spend some of it learning online and tinker around with free game development tools until I feel confident in my ability. I could then develop my own game and take those next steps toward my goal.

https://www.linkedin.com/advice/0/which-technologies-tools-do-you-use-game-development#:~:text=Some%20of%20the%20testing%20tools,analytics%20to%20improve%20your%20game.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started